Boat Tour Captain Summer

My Summer as a Boat Tour Captain

Over the summer, I captained tour boats for Original Soo Locks Boat Tours up north in Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan. Interlake Maritime Services recently purchased …

Read more

John T. Alter

Past Chief Commander John Theodore Alter passed away peacefully on June 20, 2023, in Pinehurst, North Carolina, with his loving wife, Judy, and family at …

Read more

Dale L. Overly

Dale L. Overly, age 85, of Sylvania, Ohio, passed away peacefully on June 21, 2023, at ProMedica Flower Hospital surrounded by his loving family. A …

Read more

Artwork by Marlin Bree of a boat being trailered around a lake

The Lure of Gold

Sailor searching for gold ends up with ballast Excerpted from Marlin Bree’s new “Bold Sea Stories 2.” Mesmerized by the land and sky, I drove …

Read more

Carl Dearmin

Past Commander Carl Dearmin, JN, joined United States Power Squadrons in 1998 in the northwest and transferred his membership to the Savannah River Sail & …

Read more

Frederick J. Deppert

Feb. 20, 1961–Feb. 14, 2023 It is with deep sadness that we report the passing of R/C Fred Deppert, AP, of Sewanhaka Sail & Power …

Read more

George Hallenbeck

George R. Hallenbeck, age 81, died at Stamford Hospital surrounded by his family and entered into God’s full embrace on March 11, 2023, following a …

Read more

Ralph Ruggiero

May 19, 1939 – April 17, 2023. With heavy hearts, we announce the passing of Ralph S. Ruggiero, a beloved husband, father, grandfather, brother, uncle, …

Read more

Alexander Wrenn

Alexander Elmer Wrenn, age 77, died peacefully on Monday April 24th at Moses Cone Memorial Hospital, surrounded by his family. A Service of Witness to …

Read more

James Acheson

P/R/C James C. Acheson, SN, of Port Huron (Mich.) Squadron/9 has passed away at age 86. Commander Acheson joined Lackawanna Squadron (D/4) in 1963 after …

Read more

Mike Moye, Bob Lindholm , Ted Reiss Jr. and Craig Fraser at the 2023 Annual Meeting

Best of the Best

During the 2023 Annual Meeting, the recipients of the 2022 Charles F. Chapman Award for Excellence in Teaching were recognized.